#thestruggleisreal

After a 6:30 am wake up call to help my son finish his homework, an 8 hour work day that included two meetings that seemed to never end and cleaning up a house I am finally sitting down to work on the blog. And this has been the story for the past few weeks; I work my full time job, preform my evening mom duties and without missing a beat I go right to work on the blog. Tonight in my half sleepy state, I have to get a list of thing done before I can turn in.

1. Create outfits for the next four post  GO TO SLEEP!

2. Write to the post for each outfit  DO IT TOMORROW, SLEEP!!

3. Work on my first Monthly Favorites” video THE BED LOOKS SO COZY!!! SLEEP!

4. Respond to e-mails on IFB RESPOND IN YOUR SLEEP!!!!!!

Shut the HELL up brain! And so goes the battle between my body and my heart…….

My body is screaming for me to sleep, but I know I can’t. My heart is saying I have to stay up and get this work done; the blog ain’t gonna write itself….wait will it??? I have been up like this for the past few weeks, working until I am literally falling asleep at the computer trying to grow my blog and so this is going to be my life for the next few……well that’s just it, who knows. My hope is to make this blog my full time job, but I know I have to put in work to make that happen and even more work to keep it happening once it happens, so sleep may never be an option. But as much as I want to sleep, I enjoy coming home to more work. This blog is feeding the creative side of me that was hungry for something more than what I was feeding it, so it doesn’t really feel like work. So my heart and my body do this dance every night; the urge to sleep and the urge to create and learn. My heart is winning this evening, but my body won last night lol. I feel like a sponge learning so many new things and its driving me to keep going. I used to blog from my bed, but I would wake up at 2am with the computer tangled in my robe so I created a space in my room that is my “office” of sorts. I have a calendar that I keep on my desk with my TO DO list and once I have done everything on the list, I can sleep. It’s been working for me so far, but I know the more I grow the blog, the longer the list will become, but I will cross that bridge when I get there. I have to take this one step at a time!

My dad is my biggest role model in this venture. No hes not a fashion blogger lol; hell his idea of fashion is a pair of overalls, steal toe boots and his Redskins cap! He is a small business owner and started his business from scratch. He went to school got his degree in Sociology and worked in his field for a number of years and then one day he just wanted a change. He started his construction business shortly after, learning everything he needed to know along the way. He put in the work and now has a very successful construction company! I watch him everyday manage his business and how hard he works and I know that I can do it too. And I get motivation from other bloggers as well. I have found that many others juggle full-time jobs and families and blog as well and that keeps me going knowing that I am not alone. I am not the only blogger up until 2am, getting 4 hours of sleep and having to get kids ready for school and a full work day ahead!

So the struggle I feel right now trying to grow my business won’t always be a struggle. Other struggle’s will follow, but if I can get through the struggle of growing this from nothing to something, all the other struggle’s will be easy to weather!

Until next time diary,

XOXO,

Minnie

P.S. I stayed up long enough to get my Monthly Favorites video done!

 

Leave a Reply

