Compare and Contrast

I have a bad habit of looking at other blogs and then going back to look at my blog and getting really depressed. I know I need to stop doing that, but I can’t help it. I follow many of the mega bloggers and I think to myself “I can’t compare and I don’t think I ever will.” I sit and stare at my blog for hours picking apart everything from the layout to the pictures to the content I write. I even at one point thought about just getting rid of my blog altogether! I look at the number of social media followers other bloggers have, the likes they get on IG or the re-tweets on Twitter and it plunges me in even deeper. I hope that I’m not alone in this. Other bloggers at some point in their journey do the old “compare and contrast” routine, right?? Every blogger sometimes feel like they can’t compare or compete with other bloggers, right??  It would really make me feel a bit better to know I have some company in this. Not because my misery wants company, because I would love someone to help me through this. The only people who understand are other blogger….right?? That’s assuming other bloggers fell how I feel but if not, I’m all alone. And I have no one to talk to, well I have you Diary, but you can’t talk back, right??? I check my site views a million times a day, watching the numbers slowly rise, refresh my feed on IG when I post a picture to see how quickly it took for the first like, checking to see if anything I tweeted got a favorite or re-tweet or if I gained a new follower. I feel like the more people who follow me, the more successful my blog is and I don’t have very many followers. Its a nerve racking situation!

HELP ME!!!

In my latest “compare and contrast” moment I came across an article on IFB talking about this very thing; comparing yours to someone else. OMG!!! Jennine Jacob was talking directly to me! It’s not about the numbers on social media or the amount of blog followers I have, its about just blogging, doing what I love and expressing myself in this way. I need to stop focusing on the numbers and put all that focus in working on giving my readers good quality consistent content. Working on improving my writing and photography and just letting everything else fall in place. Everyone starts somewhere! I mean mega bloggers didn’t get to that point overnight, right??? After reading that article, I went into the archives of my favorite mega blogger and realized that they started out just like me!! There were no amazing back drops. There was no professional photographer. Most of the pictures were taking with a simple point and shoot camera and in their houses. I went thru the years and watched the evolution of these bloggers and it didn’t take months but years to become the bloggers they are today. I saw the picture quality grow, the locations become amazing, the storytelling come alive. I saw the work that they put into their blog to grow them to where they are today and I think I saw the moment when they stop focusing on other blogs and focused on their own 🙂

And I finally got it, that ah-ha moment. When I am focusing on others blogs, I’m not working on my blog. I’m not working on my skills to improve my blog. And in focusing on them, I am losing my unique voice; trying to be someone I am not. I can’t “compare and contrast” my blog to other blogs, my blog is mine; there is nothing to compare it to. This is my voice, my style, my journey.

Now I may still on occasion “compare and contrast”, its human nature to compare in a way I guess, but I won’t get me down, it will only push me to work harder to achieve my goals in this blogging world.

Till next time Diary,

XOXO,

Minnie

 

Leave a Reply

