Let me explain….|#DOFB

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Dear Diary,

I am staring this entry on a sad note, my sweet baby kitty that I’ve had for 20 years died this week. She had been sick for sometime and my parents told me to take her to the vet to have her looked at. Poor thing had been back and forth to the vet so many times over the past year for one thing or another and my dad kinda figured this would be her last trip. Later on in the morning, I got the call from my father and he told me that the vet recommended surgery but with her age and other health issues didn’t think she would even make it through one, so we made the tough decision to have her put to sleep. The family went to spend some final time with her and I stayed there as they gave her the meds; I wanted her to have a familiar face in the room as she went. It’s crazy how pets take a small part of your heart and when they pass, its as if that piece they had died. I’m adult with a child of my own but I for some reason never thought she would die, like that never crossed my mind. I was still that kid in a way, thinking she would live forever. I have had many pets before her who passed, but this one hurt the most because she was the last pet from my childhood. I am going to miss her curled up at the foot of my bed or running around the house like a mad animal chasing something!

I loved my kitty so much and will truly miss her.

IMG_1991[1]

Korey being a lazy bones lol

So the time stamp on the draft of this post is May 1, 2015; holy crap has it been that long since I have blogged?!?! It’s been so long I can’t even remember what this post was originally suppose to be about. It doesn’t feel like its been a year but it has been and well, I suck for that. I guess I should explain….

There was no one thing that happened to make me stop blogging; it was a combination of a lot of things….I was becoming overwhelmed with how much work it takes to keep it up, I was constantly comparing myself to other bloggers, I couldn’t find my voice in this blogging world and at a point I became really unmotivated.

Almost 2 years ago (in September to be exact), I started this blog as my creative outlet. I was in an environment when I could literally fell the creativity draining out of me and I needed a space where I could explore and grow. As I was exploring Instagram, I can across an account that blew my mind! I had to find out more about this person and went to their “blog” and spent hours exploring their page; I FOUND IT! This is the creative space I wanted to create for myself. It was full of pictures of stunning travel locations and delicious food and beautiful clothing perfectly curated on what I described as an online diary.  After seeing that, I dove into research about how to start one of my own. After a few weeks of research, I started a second Instagram account and on September 9, 2014 I posted my first blog post ever! It was the start of my very own online diary and I was proud of it. As time when on, the ups and downs of this journey came and wanted to document it, so I started to write weekly about this experience. I shared with you my fears about stepping into this arena. I shared with you my first feature and sponsored post. I shared with you the burnout I was starting to feel and in my last diary entry before my long silence, I shared with you the changes that were happening in my life and the changes I wanted to make to the blog; but I ever followed through. Fast forward to today and some changes have taken place in my life. I have moved to my dream neighborhood and will shortly start the hunt for my dream house and enrolled in school to get my degree in social media marketing.

I have always wanted to come back to my space and create again but the more time had passed, the more I felt like I should stay away. I felt it would be strange to jump back into it after being gone for so long. I mean what did I have to even talk about??? But one day as I was looking at other personal digital spaces I said to myself, “You love doing it so just do it, it’s your’re place where you can come and create.” And that was it! This blog is my small section of the inter-web that I can curate and call my own. It my space where I can create and explore and grow. I can make it what I want it to be, the possibilities are only as endless as my imagination.

So I am back! Back to creating, back to exploring, back to growing my digital space! I am sorry for such the long break, but I’m back and ready to share with you again!

XOXO

Minnie

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

